Olerra accessory dwelling unit in Colorado

Eaton ADU rules, costs & rent (2026)

Eaton’s real rules, taxes and rents — read from the codified ordinance, every figure sourced and dated. Here: a HUD benchmark rent of $1,238/mo for a 1-bed. Run your own numbers below, free.

The ADU rules in Eaton.

Read from the Eaton Municipal Code itself — the operative legal text, not a website summary. Eaton is an HB24-1152 subject jurisdiction: since June 30, 2025, state law requires it to allow an ADU wherever it allows a single-family home, with administrative approval — the local standards below still apply.

Maximum ADU size750 sq ft (lots ≤1.5 acres); 1,000 sq ft (lots >1.5 acres)verified September 2026Eaton Municipal Code §7-2-27.1
the ordinance text
If the residential lot upon which the ADU will be constructed is less than or equal to 1.5 acres, the ADU shall be no greater than 750 square feet. If the residential lot upon which the ADU will be constructed is larger than 1.5 acres, the ADU shall be no greater than 1,000 square feet.
Size relative to the main house100%verified September 2026Eaton Municipal Code §7-2-27.1
the ordinance text
Notwithstanding the foregoing, in no case shall the ADU exceed the square footage of the primary dwelling unit.
Minimum ADU size500 sq ftverified October 2026Eaton Municipal Code §7-2-27.1
the ordinance text
(2) The ADU shall be no less than 500 square feet.
Owner occupancyOwner-occupancy proof required only at time of building permit application; ordinance does not state an ongoing/continuing occupancy requirement thereafter.verified September 2026Eaton Municipal Code §7-2-27.1
the ordinance text
The applicant shall provide proof of owner-residency when the building permit application is filed.
Extra parking0 (1 required only if there is no existing off-street parking and on-street parking is prohibited)verified September 2026Eaton Municipal Code §7-2-27.1
the ordinance text
If there is no existing off-street parking and on-street parking is prohibited, one new parking space shall be required for the ADU.

Source: Eaton Municipal Code, §7-2-27.1 · ordinance text retrieved 2026-10-08, re-verified October 2026 · open “the ordinance text” under any figure to read the exact sentence it comes from.

What’s different about building in Eaton.

Eaton’s size cap is conditional rather than a single number: 750 sq ft (lots ≤1.5 acres); 1,000 sq ft (lots >1.5 acres) — worth reading closely before sizing a unit.

The cap is also relative: an ADU here may not exceed 100% of the main house, so a smaller primary home means a smaller buildable ADU.

Parking: 0 (1 required only if there is no existing off-street parking and on-street parking is prohibited).

Property tax runs lighter than most of the state here: 79.951 mills total in the example tax area (Weld County tax area 5059), about 11% below the median of the Colorado tax areas we track (levies vary by parcel).

Finished Olerra ADU with warm wood cladding

The local math.

What an ADU adds to the tax bill in Eaton, and the federal benchmark for what it rents for.

Example mill levy
79.951
34.206 school · 45.745 local · Weld County tax area 5059 · tax year 2025 levy, collected 2026 (not final 2026 levies) · an example, not a parcel quote
Tax per $100K of added value
≈$552/yr
TY2026 assessment rates (7.05% school, 6.80% local) on the latest certified levy (TY2025) — a mixed-year estimate until TY2026 levies are certified
1-bed rent benchmark
$1,238/mo
HUD FY2026 Fair Market Rent, Weld County — a benchmark, not a guaranteed rent
2-bed rent benchmark
$1,563/mo
HUD FY2026 Fair Market Rent — actual rents vary by unit and location

Levies: Weld County Assessor, 2025 Mill Levy Report (Tax District and Authority Report) — example: Weld County tax area 5059; levies differ between tax areas inside Eaton; check your parcel with the county assessor. Rates: Colorado DOLA, TY2026 — the 10% reduction on the first $700,000 of value applies to the local-government portion, once per property. Rents: HUD Fair Market Rents, huduser.gov.

What an ADU actually costs here.

Two ways to build the same unit in Eaton. Both figures are all-in — design, permits, foundation, utility connections and installation.

Site-built with a general contractor

≈490 sq ft · one-off design, trades at Front Range site rates, 20–35% GC markup, 12–18 months

Typical all-in range
$500,000–$650,000

Published Front Range ranges for a comparable one-off build, 2025–26

Olerra Flex Flat 490 ADU exterior

Flex Flat 490

490 sq ft · Studio, 1 Bedroom, or Studio + 2‑car garage

All-in project range
$300,000–$365,000

≈ $2,100–$2,600 / month fully financed

In Eaton, the 490 is below Eaton's 500 sq ft minimum ADU size

Olerra Flex Flat 735 ADU exterior

Flex Flat 735

735 sq ft · 2 Bedroom

All-in project range
$420,000–$465,000

≈ $2,800–$3,500 / month fully financed

Fits Eaton’s size rule

Olerra ranges: published all-in project pricing, September 2026 — site preparation, foundation, utility connections and permitting included.

Eaton ADU questions, answered.

Are ADUs allowed in Eaton?

Yes. The Eaton Municipal Code permits accessory dwelling units (§7-2-27.1), subject to the size, height, setback and use rules quoted above from the ordinance text. Eaton is also an HB24-1152 subject jurisdiction, so since June 30, 2025 state law requires it to allow an ADU wherever it allows a single-family home, with administrative approval; the local standards above still apply. Zoning district, lot size and setbacks still decide what fits on a specific lot — the free property check confirms yours.

Do I need a permit to build an ADU in Eaton?

Yes. An ADU is a new dwelling unit, so Eaton requires a building permit (plus any zoning or site-plan review the code calls for) before construction starts. Olerra's all-in price includes permitting, and factory-built units are inspected to the same building code as a site-built home.

How big can an ADU be in Eaton?

Per the Eaton Municipal Code: 750 sq ft (lots ≤1.5 acres); 1,000 sq ft (lots >1.5 acres). The Olerra Flex Flat 490 is below Eaton's 500 sq ft minimum ADU size; the 735 fits under this rule. The free property check confirms what fits on your lot.

Does the owner have to live on the property in Eaton?

Per the ordinance: Owner-occupancy proof required only at time of building permit application; ordinance does not state an ongoing/continuing occupancy requirement thereafter.

How much does it cost to build an ADU in Eaton?

A one-off site build with a general contractor typically runs about $500,000–$650,000 for a ~490 sq ft unit. Olerra's factory-built Flex Flats run $300,000–$365,000 (490) and $420,000–$465,000 (735) all-in — site preparation, foundation, utility connections and permitting included.

How much property tax will an ADU add in Eaton?

Roughly $552 per year for every $100,000 of value the ADU adds, in the example tax area shown above: Colorado's TY2026 school (7.05%) and local-government (6.80%) assessment rates on the latest certified (TY2025) levy, a mixed-year estimate. Levies differ between tax areas, so check your parcel with the county assessor.

ADU rules in other Colorado cities.

Same method, each city’s own ordinance. The Colorado hub lists every city, and the statewide ADU calculator covers any Colorado address.

Denver864–1,000 sq ft · 79.6 mills · $1,754/mo HUD rent benchmarkAuroraup to 650 sq ft · 98.2 mills · $1,754/mo HUD rent benchmarkBoulder750–1,000 sq ft · 89.2 mills · $1,795/mo HUD rent benchmarkFort Collins750–1,000 sq ft · 92.7 mills · $1,537/mo HUD rent benchmarkLongmont800+ sq ft · 97.6 mills · $1,795/mo HUD rent benchmarkThornton1,000+ sq ft · 113.4 mills · $1,754/mo HUD rent benchmarkArvada600–1,200 sq ft · 97.4 mills · $1,754/mo HUD rent benchmarkGolden500–800 sq ft · 90.7 mills · $1,754/mo HUD rent benchmarkWheat Ridgeup to 1,000 sq ft · 88.2 mills · $1,754/mo HUD rent benchmarkPuebloup to 800 sq ft · 92.6 mills · $967/mo HUD rent benchmarkMonument750–1,250 sq ft · $1,464/mo HUD rent benchmarkSalida800–1,000 sq ft · 46.1 mills · $1,117/mo HUD rent benchmarkDacono118.2 mills · $1,238/mo HUD rent benchmarkHudsonup to 1,000 sq ft · 87.2 mills · $1,238/mo HUD rent benchmarkLa Salleup to 750 sq ft · 69.7 mills · $1,238/mo HUD rent benchmarkPalmer Lake67.0 mills · $1,464/mo HUD rent benchmarkSuperior750+ sq ft · 105.0 mills · $1,795/mo HUD rent benchmarkSheridan91.5 mills · $1,754/mo HUD rent benchmarkRidgway1,000–1,200 sq ft · 63.2 mills · $1,245/mo HUD rent benchmarkSilverton800+ sq ft · 45.8 mills · $1,119/mo HUD rent benchmarkWestminsterup to 1,200 sq ft · $1,754/mo HUD rent benchmarkBroomfield500–800 sq ft · $1,754/mo HUD rent benchmarkFirestoneup to 900 sq ft · 104.8 mills · $1,238/mo HUD rent benchmarkTimnath850–1,000 sq ft · $1,537/mo HUD rent benchmarkBerthoudup to 850 sq ft · 95.5 mills · $1,537/mo HUD rent benchmark

Learn before you build.

Guides and real Colorado numbers from our team — a fresh pick every couple of weeks, or search for exactly what you need.

Browse all articles

Cite or link this page.

Planning departments and journalists are welcome to reference this data.

Citation line Olerra ADU Cost Calculator — Eaton, CO. Page updated October 9, 2026; rules verified October 2026. https://www.olerra.com/adu-calculator/eaton/
Link HTML <a href="https://www.olerra.com/adu-calculator/eaton/">Eaton ADU rules &amp; costs</a>

Page updated October 9, 2026. The oldest dated figure on the page is from August 25, 2026.

Thinking about an ADU in Eaton?